Hidden Valley Road

Publisher : Hachette UK

ISBN-13 : 178747383X

Page : 352 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 83X voters

12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2020* *TIME 100 Must-Read Books Of 2020 Pick* *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah's Book Club Pick* 'Startlingly intimate' - The Sunday Times 'Grippingly told and brilliantly reported' - Mail on Sunday 'Unforgettable' - The Times For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. 'An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind 'This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker's brilliant Lost Girls' -Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand 'Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again' -David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon

More Books:

Hidden Valley Road
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Robert Kolker
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-09 - Publisher: Hachette UK

12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science's greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF
Summary of Robert Kolker's Hidden Valley Road
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Swift Reads
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-06 - Publisher: Swift Books LLC

Buy now to get the insights from Robert Kolker's Hidden Valley Road. Sample Insights: 1) Don and Mimi Galvin had twelve children: Donald Jr. (1945), Jim (1947),
Hidden Valley Road
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Robert Kolker
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-02 - Publisher: Anchor Books

OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR ONE OF THE WALL STREET JOURNAL TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR
California Desert Byways
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Tony Huegel
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-12-21 - Publisher: Wilderness Press

Presents 65 desert trips from Bishop to the Mexican border, including expanded coverage of popular destinations such as Death Valley National Park, Mojave Natio
Proposed BNSF Cajon Third Main Track, Summit to Keenbrook
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher:

California Trails Desert Region
Language: en
Pages: 337
Authors: Peter Massey
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-09 - Publisher: Adler Publishing

This edition of our Trails series contains detailed backcountry trail information for 51 offroad routes located near the towns of Lone Pine (east), Panamint Spr
Helena National Forest (N.F.), North Belts Travel Plan
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005 - Publisher:

Joshua Tree National Park (N.P.) General Management Plan (GMP) and Development Concept Plans
Language: en
Pages:
Joshua Tree National Monument, California
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: United States. National Park Service. Western Regional Office
Categories: Joshua Tree National Park (Calif.)
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher:

Explorer's Guide The Shenandoah Valley & Mountains of the Virginias: Includes Virginia's Blue Ridge and Appalachian Mountains & West Virginia's Alleghenies & New River Region
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Jim Hargan
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-04-19 - Publisher: The Countryman Press

A lively, comprehensive guide to the southern Appalachians, from Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains to the Monongahela National Forest of West Virginia. With visit