The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher

Publisher : Zondervan

ISBN-13 : 0310316251

Page : 352 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 251 voters

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church—he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

More Books:

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Rob Stennett
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-05-26 - Publisher: Zondervan

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical
The End Is Now
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Rob Stennett
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-06-23 - Publisher: Zondervan

Meet the Henderson family: Jeff, a struggling salesman who lives with a constant nagging fear that something will happen to his family; Will, who’s just tryin
Secondhand Jesus
Language: en
Pages: 166
Authors: Glenn Packiam
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01-01 - Publisher: David C Cook

God has offered us firsthand knowledge of His love, His grace, and His power. Yet so often, we too easily settle for someone else's descriptions, the Cliff note
Homemade Haunting
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Rob Stennett
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-04-19 - Publisher: Zondervan

Charlie Walker doesn’t believe in God or the supernatural. But Charlie’s views change when he takes the biggest risk of his life—he quits his job to write
Churched
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Matthew Paul Turner
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-10-07 - Publisher: Convergent Books

He spent his childhood trapped within the confines of countless bizarre, strict rules. And lived to tell about it. In this first-hand account, author Matthew Pa
The Subversive Evangelical
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Peter J. Schuurman
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-30 - Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

Evangelicals have been scandalized by their association with Donald Trump, their megachurches summarily dismissed as “religious Walmarts.” In The Subversive
The College Adventure Handbook
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Rob Stennett
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-01-04 - Publisher: Zondervan

Leaving home for college can be both exciting and scary, especially for young Christians who want to succeed academically, socially, and spiritually.The College
Lucky
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Glenn Packiam
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-03-01 - Publisher: David C Cook

Glenn Packiam redefines the word lucky in the context of Jesus’ beatitudes in Luke’s Gospel. Lucky uncovers how the poor, hungry, mourning and persecuted ar
The Living and the Undead
Language: en
Pages: 74
Authors: Rob Stennett
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-29 - Publisher: RosettaBooks

All Eli Troyer has ever wanted is to leave home—to escape the tedium and boredom of life among his Amish family and friends. He doesn't want religion. Doesn't
The Dog That Talked to God
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Jim Kraus
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-03-01 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A wonderfully quirky, heart-breaking, heart-warming and thought-provoking story of a woman's dog who not only talks to her, he talks to God. Recently widowed Ma