The Withered Arm

Publisher : Lindhardt og Ringhof

ISBN-13 : 8726959860

Page : 44 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 860 voters

Milkmaid Rhoda Brooks cannot control her jealousy of Gertrude - a beautiful woman who has just married a rich farmer. So when Gertrude appears in her dream she cannot help but reach out and grab the arm of the woman she wishes she was. As Gertrude's arm begins to wither away in real life and no physicians are able to give her a solution, she must turn to a conjurer. Considered one of Hardy's most successful short stories, 'The Withered Arm' is unmissable for those who enjoyed the suspense of Edgar Allen Poe's 'A Tell-Tale Heart Thomas Hardy (1840-1928) was an architect by trade, but he is best remembered for the major contributions that he made to the literary world. He wrote both novels and poetry and was famed for his pessimistic outlook. The most notable of his works include 'Jude The Obscure', 'Far from the Madding Crowd', and 'Tess of the d'Ubervilles'. His gloomy prose is ideal for fans of Dickens, Defoe, and Keats.

More Books:

The Withered Arm
Language: en
Pages: 44
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-02 - Publisher: Lindhardt og Ringhof

Milkmaid Rhoda Brooks cannot control her jealousy of Gertrude - a beautiful woman who has just married a rich farmer. So when Gertrude appears in her dream she
Elmwood, Or, The Withered Arm
Language: en
Pages: 233
Authors: Katie Lennan
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1876 - Publisher:

The Withered Arm and Other Stories 1874-1888
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-31 - Publisher: Penguin UK

"See if she is dark or fair, and if you can, notice if her hands be white; if not, see if they look as though she had ever done housework, or are milker's hands
The Withered Arm (EasyRead Large Edition)
Language: en
Pages: 70
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-01-14 - Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

Hardy's The Withered Arm is a gothic tale of suspense and coincidence, and witchcraft. Hardy recalled a time when ''there was still living an old woman who, for
The Withered Arm - With Audio Level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library
Language: en
Pages: 64
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Foreign Language Study
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-30 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

A level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library graded reader. This version includes an audio book: listen to the story as you read. Retold for Learners of English by Jennif
The Withered Arm (EasyRead Super Large 20pt Edition)
Language: en
Pages: 90
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-09-04 - Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

"The Withered Arm" presents a fine blend of suspense, coincidence and gothic elements. Referring to the contemporary practice of witchcraft, Hardy has touched u
The Withered Arm (EasyRead Super Large 18pt Edition)
Language: en
Pages: 78
Authors: Thomas Hardy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-09-04 - Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

"The Withered Arm" presents a fine blend of suspense, coincidence and gothic elements. Referring to the contemporary practice of witchcraft, Hardy has touched u
Judaism, Christianity, and Islam
Language: en
Pages: 440
Authors: Francis E. Peters
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher: Princeton University Press

Compares and contrasts texts from the three religions as they deal with their origins, their role in society, the law, worship and the spiritual life, and the e
A Companion to the British and Irish Short Story
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: David Malcolm
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-01-30 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

A Companion to the British and Irish Short Story provides a comprehensive treatment of short fiction writing and chronicles its development in Britain and Irela
Coerced Contraception?
Language: en
Pages: 244
Authors: Ellen H. Moskowitz
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996-09-13 - Publisher: Georgetown University Press

Long-acting and reversible contraceptives, such as Norplant and Depo-Provera, have been praised as highly effective, moderately priced, and generally safe. Yet,